Everyone wants to know..

We’ve been here just under two weeks now and we’ve already been grabbing the attention of various forms of media.

We met a lovely lady at our Open meeting last week and she asked if she could write a blog piece. She was kind enough to print us out a copy to read before publishing it. Click here to read the article on the London review of books. I think its quite a positive review (well its not particularly negative). I wouldn’t know if many people actually read that blog, but hey at least its something good about us 🙂

The next day after publication, we soon found out that people do read it. Coming back to 195 I found 2 women – from the Evening Standard. Turns out they read the article on the LRB. We of course were very nice to them, honest and truthful in everything we said. However, as a group we have already agreed that people cannot take pictures inside the building without our permission, so thats what was done. I don’t think the photographer was too pleased about that.

I personally don’t know all that much about the Evening Standard, I don’t have the energy to waste on newspapers. However, whenever I have had a look, I have never been too amused and I know that they don’t particularly make squatters look very nice in any way, so I can’t imagine what they would want from us. Either way, they hung around for a while and I guess we did have an interesting conversation.   Turns out we didn’t give them a good enough story as we checked the paper the next day and there was nothing in there. I guess no news is good news.

I went online to search if the ES had posted anything online, I didn’t find anything but turns out the Dalstonist also considers us news..  There’s this strange feeling I get when I realise that I have now been labelled as a squatter.

Creative Commons License
Creative Commons License
Keeping it moving by 195 Mare street is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. by 195 Mare street is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

